Hello again, empty cyberspace.

So, I've been very busy with the harvest. I've pulled up all the garlic and onions. Next year I think we need to plant a lot more, because when you get a bag of 50 onion sets you think '50 onions? I dont need all those'. But I didnt realise how many would bolt, or account for the variations in size. So next year, lots of onions. I have sown green manure over the plot to keep the weeds down.

All the potatoes from the tatty area have been dug up, although I'm not having much luck with cooking the Red Roosters - every time I boil them they dissolve into mush. Not impressed. I have sown mustard seed over the potato area to deter wireworm and add nutrients.

The winter veg area is filling up nicely, and the summer bed is just finishing. To be honest, I cant wait to pull all the plants up and get ready for next year. Jen and I have drawn up a plan of where we want things to go. This should save time and make us more organised next year.

The pumpkins are doing really well - we have 8 fruits in total and they're all a good size. Oh, and we've ordered 4 tons of manure for £12 (bargain!) and begun digging a new bed where we can plant salads next year.
Stephen Byrne
9/12/2010 07:31:46 pm

Hi - you are not alone. The site's great, and I found it via John Harrison's Allotment site so you must be doing something right to be on his list!

Just picked up the keys to my plot yesterday, I'm excited and daunted. I've joined UK Veg Gardeners via My Tiny Plot so hope to keep those who are interested informed of progress. Steve

Reply



Leave a Reply.